Akron Public Schools is located in Akron, Ohio, in the northeastern part of the state, less than 40 miles south of Cleveland and 20 miles north of Canton. It is the fifth largest district in Ohio with approximately 22,000 students enrolled.

The district features:

  • Nine high schools (including 2 high school CLCs)
  • Nine middle schools (including 6 middle school CLCs)
  • 31 elementary schools (including 21 elementary school CLCs)


Akron Public Schools offers unique programs designed for every student.

  • Pre-schools in several elementary schools
  • Free all-day kindergarten
  • Free breakfast and lunch for all students
  • Customized educational opportunities designed to fit each student's needs
  • Special education
  • Gifted programs
  • Specialized programs in visual and performing arts
  • Two dedicated STEM schools (high school and middle schools)
  • AkronReads tutoring program
  • International Baccalaureate
  • Pre-engineering
  • 30+ Career Education programs
  • Dual degree programs earn a high school diploma and college credit at the same time
  • Akron Early College, nationally recognized and ranked, allows for dual degrees from APS and The University of Akron (associates degree) upon high school graduation


Community Learning Centers

Community Learning Centers (CLCs) provide students and Akron area residents with places to learn, gather and connect both during and after the school day. CLCs are schools by day and community learning centers by night and on weekends.

The Akron Community Learning Centers project started in 2003 and is an aggressive $800 million plan to remodel or rebuild all Akron Public School District school buildings by 2017. Twenty-eight CLCs are complete.

Akron Public Schools schedules programs during the school day. The City of Akron schedules the buildings after school hours.