About

About Forest Hill CLC
Forest Hill Community Learning Center opened on August 27, 2008.

Academic Suport Programs:

  • Teachers have an average of 22 years of experience, and 81% hold a master's degree or higher.
  • 100% of Forest Hill CLC’s teachers have the designation of "Highly Qualified Teacher."
  • Title 1 funds keep class sizes small in fourth grade
  • Intervention for students with special needs
  • English as a Second Language
  • 100 Book Challenge
  • Site-Based Improvement Plan team monitors math, attendance and reading   
  • Intervention Assistance Team that coordinates with parents, students and staff


Parent + Community Involvement:

  • An active PTA
  • Parent involvement programs include math and reading nights
  • YMCA after-school care, Pastoral Counseling, K-5 safety programs
  • Volunteers from the University of Akron women’s basketball team, who read to students monthly
  • Partnerships with Forest Hill Community Church and Celebration Church
  • OASIS tutors help strengthen reading skills of second-grade students


Student Activities

  • Instrumental music to prepare for middle school band and orchestra.
  • The Akron After School program provides math tutoring and enrichment activities for 50% of our students.
  • First Book Akron book distributions.
  • Peer mediation.
  • Annual canned food drive for Good Neighbors and Forest Hill Community Church.
  • Join Us In Celebrating Education (JUICE) Assemblies.
  • PAWS Club encourages attendance, coming to school on time and respecting others.


History of Forest Hill CLC
Forest Hill School was originally part of Portage Township Schools when it was constructed in 1914.  The school took its name from the woods in which it was located. The original buff-colored brick structure contained four rooms. In 1916, Forest Hill became part of Akron Public Schools.  Additions were completed in 1926, 1964 and 1993.  The groundbreaking for new building took place on February 9, 2007. The dedication ceremony was on August 26, 2008; classes started in new building on August 27.