About

About Mason CLC

The Mason Community Learning Center was opened on January 22, 2008.  

 

Our school:

  • Mason CLC teachers have an average of 15 years of experience
  • 78% hold a master's degree or higher
  • Mason CLC campus features the latest digital classroom technology and video conferencing
  • Mason CLC offers students specialized tutors and small class sizes

 

Our programs:

  • Accelerated reading program to enhance comprehension skills
  • After-school enrichment
  • Morning and afternoon preschool and Pre-K for 3-5 year olds
  • Parent programs
  • OPT tutoring 
  • OhioReads
  • STAR Reader and Math programs to assess student mathematics and reading levels
  • Summer school programs 
  • Supplemental reading materials

 

 

History of Mason CLC

 

The original Mason Elementary School was constructed and opened in 1913.  It was named in honor of Frank H. Mason (1852-1931), who served as vice president of Goodrich Rubber Works, Akron’s first rubber company, in 1907, and later became vice chairman of its Board of Directors.  In September 1910, when Akron Public Schools suspended medical inspections in the schools due to lack of funding, Mr. Mason offered to pay the costs of employing visiting nurses in the schools for one year to ensure student health. In recognition of his generosity, the Akron Board of Education named the proposed school on Beaver Street the "Frank H. Mason School."  Groundbreaking for new building took place on June 6, 2006. The new building opened to students on January 22, 2008, and official dedication took place on February 9, 2008.