2021 Scholarships to be Awarded

Virtual 31st Annual Harold K. Stubbs Awards Dinner
Posted on 04/28/2021
Image of AchievementAkron Public Schools Board of Education member Bruce Alexander is being recognized for his many contributions to the community. He joins several APS students for recognition at the annual Harold K. Stubbs Scholarship Awards this week.

The Harold K. Stubbs Scholarship Committee will virtually award its 2021 scholarships on April 30.

Receiving the full scholarship to Kent State University is Miranda L. Honaker from John R. Buchtel HS CLC.

Recipients of the partial scholarships are:
  • Brendan A. Chapman-Thomas, Harvey S. Firestone HS CLC
  • Jeremy N. Dang, Harvey S. Firestone HS CLC
  • Reagan G. Dudones, Ellet HS CLC
  • Julian F. Grimes, John R. Buchtel HS CLC
  • Trayonna J. James, John R. Buchtel HS CLC
  • William L. Leach, Harvey S. Firestone HS CLC
  • Sativa’ M. Neal, East HS CLC
  • Myiah E. Webb, St. Vincent St Mary HS
For the last 31 years, the Harold K Stubbs scholarship program has provided eight or nine scholarships every year to quality students for whom higher education is almost out of reach. Since its inception, this program has awarded more than $3 million in educational aid.

The committee also recognized the following 2020 community service awardees:
  • Bruce D. Alexander, Social Services
  • Christopher T. Williams, Ph.D., Education
  • Donna Skoda, Social Services
  • Tavia Baxter Galonski, State Representative, Government
  • Pastor Pamela J. Thomas-Slayton, Religion
  • Jeffrey E. Wilhite, Government
  • Ramona Hood, Business
  • Paster Randy Baker, Religion
  • Lashonda M. Taylor, Education
  • Kathryn A. Belfance, Law
Two Emeriti Awards were also presented to Pastor Knute Larson and Pastor Ronald J. Fowler for a Lifetime of Distinguished Service.

Kent State University has provided a full scholarship since the program’s beginning. The University of Akron had to withdraw from the program in recent years, but the committee hopes they will rejoin in the near future. Students receiving a partial scholarship may apply it to the institution of their choice.

Members of the Harold K. Stubbs committee include: Rev. Carla L. Jackson, Rev. Pamela J. Thomas-Slayton, Keli Greene, Attorney Crystal Burnett, Rev. Gwendolyn Matthews-Oliver, Reneé Greene and Rev. Stephen Chifunda. 

The scholarship program was established to honor Harold K. Stubbs (1941–89) who was a municipal court judge and politician in Akron. He was known as the city’s first black law director, a municipal court judge and for his many civic activities. In 1991, the courthouse was renamed the Harold K. Stubbs Justice Center in his honor.

The Harold K. Stubbs Scholarship program accepts donations throughout the year and should be sent to: St. Paul AMEC/HKSD, PO Box 1048, Akron, OH 44309

*Photos of each student and community award recipient can be viewed here: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/yfmdtbyiq7cdqut/AABJunZvyNz5kSvc4fN7JDRha?dl=0.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.