Pry Youth Award Presented to Firestone's Montes

APS Student Honored by Summit County
Posted on 08/20/2018
Image of Russ Pry Youth Award WinnerAt the 2018 Summit for Kids Breakfast, Summit County Juvenile Court Judge Linda Teodosio presented Lourdes Montes, from Akron, Ohio, with the 2018 Summit for Kids Russ Pry Youth Award. Lourdes was chosen for the award by the Summit for Kids Russ Pry Youth Award judging panel because of her dedicated work as a 330 LeBron James Ambassador, logging in 240 service volunteer hours with the Foundation. She is also leading the creation and development of an academic space within the new LeBron James I Promise School. Additionally, Lourdes is a cultural ambassador, volunteering at a local Hispanic community organization, Proyecto RAICES, and helping to preserve the cultural heritage of the Hispanic population in Akron. Proyecto RAICES stands for Integrating Culture, Education, and Service, and as she is bi-lingual, Lourdes has been a tremendous peer support in helping children within the program with reading activities.

“Lourdes Montes is a young woman who at such a young age has accomplished so much for youth within the Akron community while also helping to enrich and preserve her cultural background,” said Summit County Executive Ilene Shapiro. “Lourdes is a fantastic role model and is making an amazing difference in the lives of many young people. Thank you for your dedication, Lourdes -- you are truly making the world a better place.”

The annual Summit for Kids Russ Pry Youth Award recognizes an outstanding individual under 21 years of age who has created or collaborated with a program that focuses on enriching the lives of young people and making a difference in their community. This is the ninth year for Summit for Kids, a two-day program focusing on kids' health, education and quality of life.

The Summit for Kids Expo was scheduled for Saturday, August 18, from 10 a.m. until 3 p.m., at the John S. Knight Center in downtown Akron.

Image of Russ Pry Youth Award Winner

(Left to right: County Executive Ilene Shapiro, Youth Award recipient Lourdes Montes, Judge Linda Teodosio, CSB Executive Director Julie Barnes)
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.