Frequently Called Numbers

Contact us at apsnews@apslearns.org if you have a question or need more information. 

Absences/tardies: Call school 

After-school care: Carla Sibley, Community Relations, 330.761.3297, cchapman@apslearns.org

Akron After School: Desiree Bolden, 330.761.3155, dbolden@apslearns.org

Akron Early College High School: Cheryl Connolly, 330.972.6450, cconnolly@apslearns.org

Akron Plan: Dan Rambler: 330.761.2734, drambler@apslearns.org

AkronReads: Carla Sibley, Community Relations, 330.761.3297, cchapman@apslearns.org

Akron STEM High School: Dina Popa, 330.761.7965, dpopa@apslearns.org

Ask Gilby®: Ryan Rittenhouse, Communications, 330.761.3097, rdumont@apslearns.org

Athletics: Joe Vassalotti, 330.761.7988, jvassalo@apslearns.org

Board meetings: Marilyn Clackler, Superintendent's Office, 330.761.2921, mclackle@apslearns.org

Board members:

  • Patrick Bravo, President, 330-761-7977, pbravo@apslearns.org
  • Rev. Dr. Curtis T. Walker, Sr., Vice President, 330.761.7974, cwalker@apslearns.org
  • Bruce Alexander,  330.761.7972, balexand@apslearns.org
  • Lisa Mansfield, 330.761.7973, lmansfie@apslearns.org
  • Tim Miller, 330.761.7978, tmiller@apslearns.org
  • Ginger Baylor, 330.761.1668, gbaylor@apslearns.org
  • Morgan Lasher, 330.761.1673, mlasher2@apslearns.org

Board policies: Rhonda Porter, General Counsel, 330.761.2911, rporter@apslearns.org

Building construction, facility planning/capital improvement: Debra Foulk, 330.761.2805, dfoulk@apslearns.org

Building permits: Nina Biscan, 330.761.2806, nbiscan@apslearns.org

Business Affairs: Debra Foulk, 330.761.2805, dfoulk@apslearns.org

Bus schedules: Call school

Child Custody: Student Services, 330.761.2734

Child Nutrition: Laura Kepler, 330.761.1335, lkepler@apslearns.org

College/Career Services: Barbara Williams, 330.761.3130, bwillia5@apslearns.org

  • Classrooms at Central-Hower, Dental Program, 330.761.7968
  • Classrooms at Central-Hower, Transition to Work Program, 330.761.7969

Communications: Mark Williamson, 330.761.2930, maw45602@apslearns.org

Community Relations: Carla Sibley, 330.761.3297, cchapman@apslearns.org

Counselors: Yvonne Culver, 330.761.3032, yculver@apslearns.org or call school

Curriculum and Instruction:

  • Curriculum and Instruction: Ellen McWilliams, 330.761.2925, emcwilli@apslearns.org,
  • Elementary: Mary Outley-Kelly, 330.761.3075, moutley@apslearns.org
  • Secondary: Mark Black, 330.761.3079, mab15205@apslearns.org
  • Teaching and Learning: Karen Gegick, 330.761.3107, kgegick@apslearns.org
  • Fine Arts: Nathaniel Duvuvuei, 330.761.3189, ngd45876@apslearns.org
  • Foreign Language: Loi Nguyen, 330.761.3114, ldang@apslearns.org
  • Language Arts: Toan Dang-Nguyen, 330.761.3109, tnguyen@apslearns.org
  • Library/Media Services/Instructional Technology: Megan Mannion, 330.761.3045, mmannion@apslearns.org
  • Mathematics: Ruth Hotchkiss: 330.761.3112, rhotchki@apslearns.org
  • Science: Katrina Halasa: 330.761.3117, khalasa@apslearns.org
  • Social studies: Adam Motter: 330.761.3034, amotter@apslearns.org

 
Data/Accountability: Howard Lawson, 330.761.2718, hlawson@apslearns.org

Dental sealant: Wilma Cowan-Alexander, Student Services, 330.761.2741, wcowan@apslearns.org

Early Learning Program/preschool: Patricia Cronin, 330.873.3396, pcc45194@apslearns.org 

Expulsion/suspension referrals: Rebecca Jenkins, Student Services, 330.761.2742, rjenkins@apslearns.org

Gifted & Talented Programs: Megan Mannion, 330.761.3045, mmannion@apslearns.org

Graduation, Curriculum, and Instruction: Mark Black, secondary schools 330.761.3079, mab15205@apslearns.org

Home Instruction: Paul Rusinko, Special Education, 330.761.2965, prusinko@apslearns.org

Homeschooling: Wanda Basinger, Student Services, 330.761.2810, wbasinge@apslearns.org

Human Resources: Kathy McVey, 330.761.2945, kmcvey@apslearns.org

Instructional Technology/library/media services: Megan Mannion, 330.761.3045, mmannion@apslearns.org

NIHF ... STEM School: 330.761.3195

Open Enrollment: Marianne Malecky, 330.761.2816, mmalecky@apslearns.org

PASS: Laura Everett, 330.873.3373, leverett@apslearns.org

Police-in-the-Schools: Student Services, 330.761.2819

Post-secondary options: Mark Black, 330.761.3079, mab15205@apslearns.org; or call school

Proficiency/Ohio Graduation Testing, testing, research and evaluation: Patricia Agble, 330.761.3066, pagble@apslearns.org

Project GRAD Akron: Jacqueline Silas-Butler, 330.761.3056, jsilasbutler@projectgradakron.org

Project RISE: 330.761.2969

PTA: Beth Sendelbach, www.akroncouncilofptas.org

Registration (K-12): Call school

Report Cards (K-12): call school

Safety Hotline: 800.418.6423, ext. 359

School assignment: Student Services, 330.761.2735 or 330.761.2742

School closings: Debra Foulk, Business Affairs, 330.761.2805, dfoulk@apslearns.org or local radio stations

School Improvement: Kenya Harrington, 330.761.3111, klh46502@apslearns.org

School lunch/breakfast program: Laura Kepler, Child Nutrition, 330.761.1335, lkepler@apslearns.org

Security: Student Services, 330.761.2734

SOAR: Rebecca Green-Pallotta, 330.761.1604, rgreen3@apslearns.org

Special Education, transportation: Sherry Johnson, 330.761.3154, sjohnso2@apslearns.org or Vicki Feesler, 330.761.1393, vaf45768@apslearns.org

Special permits: student services, 330.761.2734

Specialty Programs: Tamiko Hatcher, 330.761.7933, thatcher@apslearns.org

Student behavior (disciplinary actions, Juvenile Court, suspension and expulsion referrals, truancy - appointments): Student Services, Rebecca Jenkins, 330.761.2742, rjenkins@apslearns.org

Student behavior (Code of Student Behavior): Student Services, 330.761.2734

Student behavior (Pupil Adjustment Program): Student Services, Erich Merkle, 330.761.2830, emerkle@apslearns.org

Summer School (Secondary): Tom Hotes, Curriculum and Instruction 330.794.4120, thotes@apslearns.org

Summer School (Elementary): Curriculum and Instruction, Mary Outley-Kelly, 330.761.3075, moutley@apslearns.org

Superintendent, David W. James, 330.761.2920, djames@apslearns.org

  • Assistant Superintendent, Ellen McWilliams, 330.761.2925, emcwilli@apslearns.org

Television shows, Mark Williamson, Communications, 330.761.2930, maw45602@apslearns.org

Title 1: Kenya Harrington, School Improvement, 330.761.3111, klh46502@apslearns.org

Transcripts, current students: contact your school counselor

Transcripts, former students: Latisha Hamer, Student Services, 330.761.2817, lnh45791@apslearns.org

Transportation: William Andexler, 330.761.1390, wba47178@apslearns.org

Volunteers: Carla Sibley, Community Relations, 330.761.3297, cchapman@apslearns.org

WAPS 91.3FM The Summit: Tommy Bruno, 330.761.3095, tbruno@apslearns.org

Weapons: Student Services, 330.761.2734

Work permits: Sondra Shephard, Student Services, 330.761.2763, sshephar@apslearns.org

YMCA/Phoenix program: Tony Grimes, 330.784.0408, agrimes2@apslearns.org

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.