School Board's Last Meeting of 2019

Final Meeting for Four Members
Posted on 12/10/2019
Image of Tim Miller and Rev. Dr. Curtis T. Walker, Sr.It was an emotional evening for all members of the Akron Public Schools Board of Education at its final meeting of the calendar year last night.

Board President, Rev. Dr. Curtis T. Walker, Sr., bestowed a gift and framed resolution to each departing member of the board and was then presented with his own by outgoing member and board VP Tim Miller.

Reverend Walker is leaving at the end of the year, as he chose not to run again in November. Miller, who will also depart the board, announced the school board’s meeting room at district headquarters will be named after Walker.

Walker also honored the three other outgoing members — Ginger Baylor, Morgan Lasher and Miller. Each gave heartfelt remarks to those gathered about the importance of public service and serving children with wisdom and strength.

"I've learned so much from each of you," Lasher told her soon-to-be former colleagues. "But, I've also learned a great deal about myself over these past two years. This has been life changing."

Early in the meeting, the board recommended Diana Autry, the Buchtel high PTA president, to fill the soon-to-be-vacant seat on the board left by Ginger Baylor who has been elected to Akron City Council.

Walker reminded the board that this decision is "non-binding." It will be up to the newly seated board in January to formally appoint her.

Autry would join other new board members: Valerie McKitrick, N. J. Akbar and Derrick Hall.

Image of Ginger Baylor
Image of Morgan Lasher   Image of Tim Miller

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.