Outstanding Work Noted in Several Areas

Dazzle Award Nominees Again Include Firestone
Posted on 05/01/2019
Image of Three Stars(courtesy Broadwayworld.com)

With the aim of recognizing the importance of musical theater and arts education in Northeast Ohio high schools, Playhouse Square proudly hosts the Dazzle Awards presented by Pat and John Chapman, affiliated with The Jimmy Awards/The National High School Musical Theatre Awards.

This regional program offers arts education opportunities throughout the school year and culminates with an awards ceremony hosted by Natalie Herbick of Cleveland's Own Fox 8 on May 18 at 7:30 p.m. Students participating in the ceremony will walk the "PNC Red Carpet" as they enter the beautiful Connor Palace for the Dazzle Awards. Each school will have the opportunity to send a student reporter to cover the PNC Red Carpet entrance.

As part of a new technical theater apprenticeship, two students will have the opportunity to shadow the Dazzle Awards lighting and sound designers, observe the creative process with the director/choreographer and music director and apply their skills with the stage management team. Interested juniors and seniors from schools participating in the Dazzle Awards submitted applications and letters of recommendation. From the pool of applicants, Maya Kohrman of Hawken Upper School and Ethan Korvne of Akron School for the Arts at Firestone CLC were selected.

Dazzle Awards will be presented to outstanding musical theater productions and students in 14 categories, including the "Spirit of the Dazzle Awards" category, awarded to the student who most embodies camaraderie, passion and an infectiously positive attitude throughout rehearsal week as identified by the Dazzle Awards creative team. The Best Actor and Best Actress will represent Northeast Ohio at The Jimmy Awards at the Minskoff Theatre in New York in June.

Click here for the 2019 Dazzle Award Nominees >>.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.