Council of Engineering Recognizes Excellence

APS Excels in STEM
Posted on 11/01/2019
Image of Best in Class stampACESS (Akron Council of Engineering and Scientific Societies) will honor several APS students at its annual awards banquet November 7 at Guy's Party Center. In addition to the awards, the banquet will include keynote speaker EbaNee Bond, Akron Entrepreneurial Fellow of The University of Akron Research Foundation, who will present "From STEM to Startup." Three STEM startups will be featured: AutoApp by Kyle Flynn, Shear Force Mat by Tianyi Guo and Natraverse by Coleen Unsworth. The APS awards include:

Teacher Awards ($500)
  • ACESS/IEEE Grant to Zach Griffith, STEM High School, for "What a Waterful Life: A Hydraulics PBL With Akron Water Supply Bureau"
  • ACESS/Akrochem Corp Grant to Monique Binkley, STEM High School, for "Cell Model Design Using Engineering and Biology"

Outstanding High School Math/Science Students

  • Chika Nkwocha and David Luong, Akron Early College High School
  • Jesire Bushner and Luke Fielding, Kenmore-Garfield High School
  • Suavay Cargill and Nicholas Limbach, STEM High School

Learn more about ACESS by visiting the website.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.