Board Recognizes 35 Years of Scholarship

Honoring OSU Young Scholars
Posted on 06/14/2022
Image of OSU Young Scholars Program 2022Akron Public Schools has been in partnership with The Ohio State University (OSU) Young Scholars Program since 1988. They have recruited, developed and engaged Akron Public Schools scholars and sent them off to The Ohio State University with hefty need-based scholarships, made possible by their stellar academic performance throughout high school. Pictured are four of the eight seniors within the Young Scholars Program. These eight seniors have completed the program requirements and will be continuing their education at the colligate level. Seven of the scholars will be headed to The Ohio State University and one headed to Kent State University.

Image of OSU Young Scholars Program 2022

From left to right: Board V.P. Derrick Hall; Eric Fletcher, OSU Young Scholars Program; Buchtel CLC seniors Cynthia Rivera-Peralta, Aneres Gould, Charnae Chatman and Arianna Swain; and Supt. Christine Fowler Mack

Not present: Zariah Jackson (Buchtel), Kia Lor (Akron Early College), Dameon Meriweather Jr. (Akron Early College) and Makyia Wray (East CLC)
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.