Inaugural APS Athletics Hall of Fame Class

Recognition of Student Athletes and Coaches
Posted on 08/25/2022
Image of AchievementThe Akron Public Schools District has a rich heritage of producing outstanding student athletes from its high schools. We are excited to recognize these APS graduates and their excellent accomplishments. After the APS HOF Selection Committee considered 40 nominations (submitted from November 2021 through February 2022), we are very pleased to announce the following list of inductees for our inaugural APS Athletics Hall of Fame class:

Student Athletes:
Bruce Alexander (North/1978), Phil Boggs (Firestone/1967), Dave Brown (Garfield/1971), Jimmy Gooden (Central-Hower/1980), Bill Heideman (Kenmore/1958), Michelle Marquess-Kearns (North/1989), Ricky Powers (Buchtel/1990) and Antoine Winfield (Garfield/1995)

Dan "Babe" Flossie (Garfield football/1949-75) and Joe Siegferth (Central boys basketball/1955-70 and Central-Hower/1971-82)

Our first induction banquet to recognize student athletes and coaches will take place Saturday, October 1, at Guy's Party Center (500 E. Waterloo Road), with doors opening at 5:30 p.m. for a cash bar cocktail hour. The buffet dinner begins at 6:30 p.m., with the induction ceremony immediately following at 7:30 p.m. Tickets are available electronically for $35 each via HomeTown Ticketing.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.